Day 11: Fun!

Yes I’m totally singing the beach boys Fun Fun Fun song in my head while writing this. Sometimes you just need a book that will make you smile. Luckily, these books all fit that goal!

Once again, all titles in alphabetical order πŸ™‚

 

Hardcovers

The Best Kind of Magic
by Crystal Cestari

9781484752722.jpgAmber Sand is not a witch. The Sand family magical gene somehow leapfrogged over her. But she did get one highly specific bewitching talent: she can see true love. As a matchmaker, Amber’s pretty far down the sorcery food chain (even birthday party magicians rank higher), but after five seconds of eye contact, she can envision anyone’s soul mate.
Amber works at her mother’s magic shop–Windy City Magic–in downtown Chicago, and she’s confident she’s seen every kind of happy ending there is: except for one–her own. (The Fates are tricky jerks that way.) So when Charlie Blitzman, the mayor’s son and most-desired boy in school, comes to her for help finding his father’s missing girlfriend, she’s distressed to find herself falling for him. Because while she can’t see her own match, she can see his–and it’s not Amber. How can she, an honest peddler of true love, pursue a boy she knows full well isn’t her match?
The Best Kind of Magic is set in urban Chicago and will appeal to readers who long for magic in the real world. With a sharp-witted and sassy heroine, a quirky cast of mystical beings, and a heady dose of adventure, this novel will have you laughing out loud and questioning your belief in happy endings.

Rachel says:

Feels like a DCOM factor: 10/10

So cute! factor: 10/10

Buy it for the one who likes: Halloweentown, Chicago, or buy it for the tween just starting into YA

 

Β 

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue
by Mackenzi Lee

9780062382801.jpgA hilarious and swashbuckling teen historical fiction novel, named one of summer’s 20 must-read books by Entertainment Weekly A New York Times bestseller
A young bisexual British lord embarks on an unforgettable Grand Tour of Europe with his best friend/secret crush. An 18th-century romantic adventure for the modern age written by This Monstrous Thing author Mackenzi LeeSimon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda meets the 1700s.
Henry “Monty” Montague doesn’t care that his roguish passions are far from suitable for the gentleman he was born to be. But as Monty embarks on his grand tour of Europe, his quests for pleasure and vice are in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.
So Monty vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.
Witty, dazzling, and intriguing at every turn, The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is an irresistible romp that explores the undeniably fine lines between friendship and love.

Rachel says:Β 

The book is 9000000000 times better than the cover factor: 10/10

You can call the MC aΒ scoundrel and then grin because it sounds cool factor: 10/10

Buy it for the one who likes: Road trips, the word romp, enjoyment

 

Noteworthy
by Riley Redgate

9781419723735.jpgIt’s the start of Jordan Sun’s junior year at the Kensington-Blaine Boarding School for the Performing Arts. Unfortunately, she’s an Alto 2, which–in the musical theatre world–is sort of like being a vulture in the wild: She has a spot in the ecosystem, but nobody’s falling over themselves to express their appreciation. So it’s no surprise when she gets shut out of the fall musical for the third year straight. But then the school gets a mass email: A spot has opened up in the Sharpshooters, Kensington’s elite a cappella octet. Worshiped . . . revered . . . all male. Desperate to prove herself, Jordan auditions in her most convincing drag, and it turns out that Jordan Sun, Tenor 1, is exactly what the Sharps are looking for.

Rachel says:Β 

Acapella factor: 10/10

Alto II factor: 10/10

Buy it for the one who likes: She’s the Man, Pitch Perfect

 

Secret of a Heart Note
by Stacey Lee

9780062428325.jpgFrom critically acclaimed author Stacey Lee, an evocative novel about a teen aroma-expert who uses her extrasensitive sense of smell to help others fall in love–while protecting her own heart at all costs–perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and E. Lockhart.
Sometimes love is right under your nose. As one of only two aromateurs left on the planet, sixteen-year-old Mimosa knows what her future holds: a lifetime of weeding, mixing love elixirs, and matchmaking–all while remaining incurably alone. For Mim, the rules are clear: falling in love would render her nose useless, taking away her one great talent. Still, Mimosa doesn’t want to spend her life elbow-deep in soil and begonias. She dreams of a normal high school experience with friends, sports practices, debate club, and even a boyfriend. But when she accidentally gives an elixir to the wrong woman and has to rely on the lovesick woman’s son, the school soccer star, to help fix the situation, Mim quickly begins to realize that falling in love isn’t always a choice you can make.
At once hopeful, funny, and romantic, Stacey Lee’s The Secret of a Heart Note is a richly evocative coming-of-age story that gives a fresh perspective on falling in love and finding one’s place in the world.

Rachel says:

The feeling you get when you are in a Bath & Body Works/Lush and smell all the good smells factor: 10/10

it’s a Stacey Lee book factor: 10/10

Buy it for the one who likes: Jenny Han, Huntley Fitzpatrick

 

 

Paperbacks

Also Known As
by Robin Benway

9780802735454.jpgBeing a 16-year-old safecracker and active-duty daughter of international spies has its moments, good “and “bad. Pros: Seeing the world one crime-solving adventure at a time. Having parents with super cool jobs. Cons: Never staying in one place long enough to have friends or a boyfriend. But for Maggie Silver, the biggest perk of all has been avoiding high school and the accompanying cliques, bad lunches, and frustratingly simple locker combinations.
Then Maggie and her parents are sent to New York for her first solo assignment, and all of that changes. She’ll need to attend a private school, avoid the temptation to hack the school’s security system, and befriend one aggravatingly cute Jesse Oliver to gain the essential information she needs to crack the case . . . all while trying not to blow her cover.

Rachel says:Β 

Enjoyability factor: 10/10

Such fun factor: 10/10

Buy it for the one who likes: Ally Carter, Get a Clue

Β 


Being Sloane Jacobs
by Lauren Morrill

9780385741804.jpgSwitching places with someone else has never been more fun than in this novel about following your dreams and finding your heart from the author of Meant to Be that Huntley Fitzpatrick, author of My Life Next Door, calls “unforgettable” and “full of twists and romance.”
Meet Sloane Emily Jacobs: a seriously stressed-out figure skater who choked during junior nationals. Now meet Sloane Devon Jacobs, a spunky ice hockey player who’s been suspended from her team for too many aggressive hip checks. The two girls are on their way to skating camps in Montreal when a luggage mix-up causes them to meet. Pretty soon, the Sloanes realize that this is the opportunity they’ve been waiting for: the chance to escape their lives and switch places for the summer. But it didn’t occur to Sloane E. that she might meet a hockey hottie; and Sloane D. never expected to run into a familiar (and very good-looking) face from home. It’s not long before the Sloanes discover that convincing people you’re someone else might be more difficult than being yourself.

Rachel says:Β 

Ridiculously underrated factor: 10/10

Switcheroo factor: 10/10

Buy it for the one who likes: Go Figure, The Parent Trap

Β 

My Lady Jane
by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton & Jodi Meadows

9780062391766.jpgThis comical, fantastical, romantical, New York Times bestselling, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey is “an uproarious historical fantasy that’s not to be missed” (Publishers Weekly, starred review).
In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind YA fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history–because sometimes history needs a little help.
At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane gets to be Queen of England.
Like that could go wrong.

Rachel says:Β 

LOL factor: 10/10

Making history fun factor: 10/10

Buy it for the one who likes: Drunk History


Trouble is a Friend of Mine
by Stephanie Tromly

9780147515438.jpgSherlock meets Veronica Mars meets Ferris Bueller’s Day Off in this romance where the leading man is decidedly unromantic, and crime novel where catching the crook isn’t the only hook.
Of course Zoe Webster didn’t like Philip Digby when she first met him. No one does He’s rude and he treats her like a book he’s already read and knows the ending to. But Zoe is new in town and her options for friends are . . . limited. And before she knows it, Digby–annoying, brilliant, and somehow attractive?–has dragged her into a series of hilarious and dangerous situations all related to the investigation of a missing local teen girl. When it comes to Digby, Zoe just can’t say no. But is Digby’s manic quest really worth all the trouble he’s getting Zoe into?

Rachel says:Β 

FAVE factor: 10/10

DIGGGGGBY factor: 10/10

Buy it for the one who likes: Veronica Mars, A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro


Β 

Preorder

I have one it just isn’t announced yet

 

Back to Day 10

Onto Day 12

 

❀ Rachel

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.