2017 Holiday Gift Guide 2017 Releases Backlist Recommendations

Day 10: The Caterpillar’s Favorite Question

Well clearly the caterpillar’s favorite question is “Who are you?” and so all of todays books deal with identity! Some deal with cultural identity, some with sexual identity, and some with refinding your identity after a major loss.

Once again, all titles in alphabetical order 🙂

 

Hardcovers

Calling My Name
by Liara Tamani

9780062656865.jpgCalling My Name, by debut author Liara Tamani, is a striking, luminous, and literary exploration of family, spirituality, and self–ideal for readers of Jacqueline Woodson, Jandy Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Sandra Cisneros.
This unforgettable novel tells a universal coming-of-age story about Taja Brown, a young African American girl growing up in Houston, Texas, and deftly and beautifully explores the universal struggles of growing up, battling family expectations, discovering a sense of self, and finding a unique voice and purpose.
Told in fifty-three short, episodic, moving, and iridescent chapters, Calling My Name follows Taja on her journey from middle school to high school. Literary and noteworthy, this is a beauty of a novel that deftly captures the multifaceted struggle of finding where you belong and why you matter.

Rachel says:

Fave factor: 10/10

Loveliness factor: 10/10

Buy it for the one who likes: The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros, Boyhood

 

 

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter
by Erika L Sanchez

9781524700485.jpgThe Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian meets Jane the Virgin in this poignant but often laugh-out-loud funny contemporary YA about losing a sister and finding yourself amid the pressures, expectations, and stereotypes of growing up in a Mexican-American home.
Perfect Mexican daughters do not go away to college. And they do not move out of their parents’ house after high school graduation. Perfect Mexican daughters never abandon their family. But Julia is not your perfect Mexican daughter. That was Olga’s role. Then a tragic accident on the busiest street in Chicago leaves Olga dead and Julia left behind to reassemble the shattered pieces of her family. And no one seems to acknowledge that Julia is broken, too. Instead, her mother seems to channel her grief into pointing out every possible way Julia has failed. But it’s not long before Julia discovers that Olga might not have been as perfect as everyone thought. With the help of her best friend Lorena, and her first kiss, first love, first everything boyfriend Connor, Julia is determined to find out. Was Olga really what she seemed? Or was there more to her sister’s story? And either way, how can Julia even attempt to live up to a seemingly impossible ideal?

Rachel says: 

National Book Award Finalist factor: 10/10

Imperfect MC factor: 10/10

Buy it for the one who likes: Mexican Whiteboy by Matt de la Peña, Mosquitoland by David Arnold

 

North of Happy
by Adi Alsaid

9780373212286.jpgCarlos Portillo has always led a privileged and sheltered life. A dual citizen of Mexico and the United States, he lives in Mexico City with his wealthy family, where he attends an elite international school. Always a rule follower and a parent pleaser, Carlos is more than happy to tread the well-worn path in front of him. He has always loved food and cooking, but his parents see it as just a hobby.
When his older brother, Felix–who has dropped out of college to live a life of travel–is tragically killed, Carlos begins hearing his brother’s voice, giving him advice and pushing him to rebel against his father’s plan for him. Worrying about his mental health but knowing the voice is right, Carlos runs away to the United States and manages to secure a job with his favorite celebrity chef. As he works to improve his skills in the kitchen and pursue his dream, he begins to fall for his boss’s daughter–a fact that could end his career before it begins. Finally living for himself, Carlos must decide what’s most important to him and where his true path really lies.

Rachel says: 

Food factor: 10/10

No seriously give the person you’re giving this to some tacos because they’ll crave them factor: 10/10

Buy it for the one who likes: The Food Network, Hold Still by Nina LaCour

 

Ramona Blue
by Julie Murphy

9780062418357.jpgRamona was only five years old when Hurricane Katrina changed her life forever.
Since then, it’s been Ramona and her family against the world. Standing over six feet tall with unmistakable blue hair, Ramona is sure of three things: she likes girls, she’s fiercely devoted to her family, and she knows she’s destined for something bigger than the trailer she calls home in Eulogy, Mississippi.
But juggling multiple jobs, her flaky mom, and her well-meaning but ineffectual dad forces her to be the adult of the family. Now, with her sister, Hattie, pregnant, responsibility weighs more heavily than ever.
The return of her childhood friend Freddie brings a welcome distraction. Ramona’s friendship with the former competitive swimmer picks up exactly where it left off, and soon he’s talked her into joining him for laps at the pool.
But as Ramona falls in love with swimming, her feelings for Freddie begin to shift too, which is the last thing she expected. With her growing affection for Freddie making her question her sexual identity, Ramona begins to wonder if perhaps she likes girls and guys or if this new attraction is just a fluke.
Either way, Ramona will discover that, for her, life and love are more fluid than they seem

Rachel says:

Superb factor: 10/10

*swimming* factor: 10/10

Buy it for the one who likes: Honestly Ben by Bill Konigsberg, Morgan Matson

 

 

Paperbacks

Aristotle & Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
by Benjamin Alire Saenz

9781442408937.jpgThis Printz Honor Book is a “tender, honest exploration of identity” (Publishers Weekly) that distills lyrical truths about family and friendship. Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship–the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will learn the most important truths about themselves and the kind of people they want to be.

Rachel says: 

SO GOOD factor: 10/10

*HEART EYES* factor: 10/10

Buy it for the one who likes: Adam Silvera, Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

 


Monster
by Walter Dean Myers

9780064407311.jpgThis New York Times bestselling novel from acclaimed author Walter Dean Myers tells the story of Steve Harmon, a teenage boy in juvenile detention and on trial. Presented as a screenplay of Steve’s own imagination, and peppered with journal entries, the book shows how one single decision can change our whole lives.
Monster is a multi-award-winning, provocative coming-of-age story that was the first-ever Michael L. Printz Award recipient, an ALA Best Book, a Coretta Scott King Honor selection, and a National Book Award finalist. In 2016, Monster was turned into a film starring Jennifer Hudson, Kelvin Harrison, Jr., and A$AP Rocky.
The late Walter Dean Myers was a National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature, who was known for his commitment to realistically depicting kids from his hometown of Harlem.

Rachel says: 

Powerful factor: 10/10

Classic YA factor: 10/10

Buy it for: Everyone you know who hasn’t read it yet

 

Openly Straight
by Bill Konigsberg

9780545798655.jpgRafe is a normal teenager from Boulder, Colorado. He plays soccer. He’s won skiing prizes. He likes to write.
And, oh yeah, he’s gay. He’s been out since 8th grade, and he isn’t teased, and he goes to other high schools and talks about tolerance and stuff. And while that’s important, all Rafe really wants is to just be a regular guy. Not that GAY guy. To have it be a part of who he is, but not the headline, every single time.
So when he transfers to an all-boys’ boarding school in New England, he decides to keep his sexuality a secret — not so much going back in the closet as starting over with a clean slate. But then he sees a classmate breaking down. He meets a teacher who challenges him to write his story. And most of all, he falls in love with Ben… who doesn’t even know that love is possible.

Rachel says: 

Exploration of sexuality factor: 10/10

Perfect companion novel (Honestly Ben) factor: 10/10

Buy it for the one who likes: Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli


This Side of Home
by Renée Watson

9781619639300.jpgA captivating and poignant coming-of-age urban YA debut about sisters, friends, and what it means to embrace change.
Maya Younger and her identical twin sister, Nikki, have always agreed on the important things. Friends. Boys. School. They even plan to attend the same historically African American college.
But nothing can always remain the same.
As their Portland neighborhood goes from rough-and-tumble to up-and-coming, Maya feels her connection to Nikki and their community slipping away. Nikki spends more time at trendy coffee shops than backyard barbecues, and their new high school principal is more committed to erasing the neighborhood’s “ghetto” reputation than honoring its history. Home doesn’t feel like home anymore. As Maya struggles to hold on to her black heritage, she begins to wonder with whom–or where–she belongs. Does growing up have to mean growing apart?
In a captivating coming-of-age story, Renee Watson explores the experiences, transitions, and cultural expectations of young African Americans in a changing world.

Rachel says: 

*sings* Cha-cha-cha-changes factor: 10/10

Sisters factor: 10/10

Buy it for the one who likes: Jason Reynolds, The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros

 


 

Preorder

9781250136121.jpg
January 23

Back to Day 9

Onto Day 11

❤ Rachel

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.